The Bishop Garden of the Washington National Cathedral

Washington National Cathedral

If you visit the Washington National Cathedral, don’t miss the Bishop’s Garden.

去華盛頓國家教堂的話,不要錯過教堂旁邊的主教花園。

This medieval-looking garden designed in the early 20th century is right next to the Gothic cathedral. Stone walls, circulating paths and elevation create mystery and make the space interesting. If there is a heavy snow, which does not happen often in D.C., snow laden trees allow you to frame interesting shots of the cathedral. When flowers are in full bloom, they become pretty foreground for your shots.

主教花園是在二十世紀初設計的,中古歐風的石牆把花園和車道隔開,蜿蜒的小道和高低起伏讓這個小小空間很有層次感,花開的季節或者冬天運氣好下大雪的話,可以把花當前景或用積雪的松樹來構圖。

It is so rare for DC to get some serious snow. This was taken during the snowpocalypse in February 2010.

This was taken in late August with very few flowers in the garden. Also, it was over 90 degree and I could not stand walking around outside and didn’t have any patience to spend more time there to frame my shot. I think I’m going to this place again when I visit DC in cherry blossom season next year.

We got some 20 inches of snow that year. I got out early in the morning at 8 to brave the snow. By the time I made it to the Bishop Garden from my apartment, my pants, socks and gloves were getting soaked from melted snow. So again I could not care much about how my photos looked as my fingers and feet got numb

We got some 20 inches of snow that year. I got out early in the morning at 8 to brave the snow. By the time I made it to the Bishop Garden from my apartment, my pants, socks and gloves were getting soaked from melted snow. So again I could not care much about how my photos looked as my fingers and feet got numb

In spring and summer, you can easily spot butterflies in the garden.

春夏很容易看到蝴蝶。

My entry about the Washington National Cathedral

Washington National Cathedral
www.nationalcathedral.org
3101 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20016-5098

Monday-Friday 10 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Sunday open for services
Check the website for summer evening special hours

One thought on “The Bishop Garden of the Washington National Cathedral

  1. Pingback: Cherry Blossom Viewing Alternative: Washington National Cathedral | Near and Far

Leave a Reply

